Developmental Observation Checklists from Birth to 5 Years



Select options

Developmental Observation Checklists from Birth to 5 Years



wDevelopmental Observation Checklists newly updated for 2021! Just like tracking height and weight, tracking developmental milestones helps educators and parents see how children’s skills compare against typical growth and development benchmarks. This pack, newly developed by Canavan Byrne, includes complete checklists and guidelines for developmental observations as well as printable posters as a quick reminder to staff to foster age-appropriate development of skills and watch for any milestones that may not be getting reached by an appropriate age.

Choose which pack you need; the 'Full Day Care' option includes the checklists and posters for all age ranges 0-5 years, the 'Sessional' option only includes checklists and posters for 2-5 years.

Developmental milestones are skills most children can do by a certain age. There are important milestones children achieve at each stage of life. Each child is an individual, so it is important to remember that a milestone checklist is only a guide for growth and development. Some children may achieve skills a little earlier and similarly some children may achieve skills a little bit later.

However, certain skills tend to develop within predictable age ranges. Knowing what to look for is key to knowing how a child is developing. Developmental milestones can help Educators & parents become aware of what skills are expected at what ages and acknowledge what the child is accomplishing – a first smile, a first step or a first word. The newly updated pack from Canavan Byrne includes the necessary tools for services observing developmental milestones in children from birth to 5 years old.

Developmental Observation Checklists Contents

This pack includes developmental checklists that can be used by both educators and parents for children from birth to 5 years old. They are divided into the following age ranges:

  • 0-1 (1-3 Months, 4-7 Months, 8-12 Months)
  • 1-2 Years
  • 2-3 Years
  • 3-4 Years
  • 4-5 Years

They are then divided into the following areas of development:

  • Physical (Under 1)
  • Gross and Fine Motor Skills (12 Months +)
  • Language
  • Social/Emotional
  • Self Help
  • Cognitive

At the end of each age category , there is a developmental delay checklist called ‘Talk To A Public
Health Nurse or G.P’. This section lists key milestones children should achieve by each developmental age. Educators should talk to parents or guardians if they notice one or more of these signs of possible developmental delay. It does not necessarily mean that the child will not achieve this milestone or that they have a developmental delay. However, it is important that it is checked with a doctor for further guidance and/or support.

Remember EYRF members receive a discount of 15% off all downloadable products on the Early Years Shop.


Additional information

Type of Service/Age Groups

Full Day-Care (All Ages Covered) €45, Sessional (Ages 2-5) €30


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Developmental Observation Checklists from Birth to 5 Years”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *